Hi, my name is Chiua (Chew-ah) and I am told I am a beautiful black Lab. I love playing, as any 1.5 year old does; I will play fetch with a tennis ball and get so excited I run around in circles to show everyone how fast I am!

Since I was with 13 other dogs in Louisiana before I came here I had no experience with a crate. When my foster family tried it the first night, I did not like it. But, since I am so well behaved, there hasn’t been a need for a crate since! I know to do my business outside and haven’t had any accidents, and I only chew on things I have been given, like tennis balls, dog bones and toys.

Generally, my day starts and ends with a walk. I tend to have more energy in the morning, especially in this warm weather. During the day I enjoy finding a quiet spot in the house to lie around and nap. I love being with my people and want to spend every minute curled up cuddling with them.

Though my foster family does not have any other dogs, I love when dog friends come by so we can play, wrestle, and run around together. I love all dogs, big and small! I haven't met any cats at my foster home, but I probably would get along with them once we were used to each other.

Since I am still a youngster, there are a few things I still need to work on. I have gotten a little excited to meet other dogs on walks, so my foster family has been working on redirecting my attention with treats, but this is something I will need to work on some more. Also, I have had a hard time understanding family mealtimes - I used to bark to get their attention, but once my foster mom started to give me yummy treats like bully sticks and frozen stuffed Kong’s while they ate dinner, I am happy as can be!

I am still learning all my proper manners but am such a smart boy that I am learning new things every day. If you are willing to take me for walks, pet me, cuddle and play with me, and give me things to chew on, then I will love you forever!

  • Age: 1.5 years
  • Gender: Male
  • Color: Black
  • Weight: 55 lbs
  • Dogs: Good
  • Cats: Unknown
  • Children: Unknown
  • Crate: Does not like, but not needed
  • Energy: Moderate

Updated post date – August 8, 2020.

Original Post Date - July 18, 2020