Sycamore
Sycamore
Sycamore

Sycamore


Available for Adoption!

Hi! My name is Sycamore. I’m a medium sized guy who weighs 55 pounds. I came from a hoarding situation in Alabama where there were 14 other dogs-it was CRAZY! When MLRR saved me and I arrived at my foster home, I was TERRIFIED of humans. Foster Mom thinks I was never in a house before. Once I got used to this warm and cozy place, I realized that living in a house is AMAZING. When I’m adjusting to my new environment, I LOVE my crate! As I get comfortable, I come out of it more and more. When I am fully adjusted, I don’t like my crate anymore. My foster mom says I’m the BEST escape artist (she has some stories for you!). Since I’m uncertain and need time to adjust, I prefer a quiet home with older children.

Foster mom tells EVERYONE how proud she is of me at all that I have accomplished, but she also says I still have more to overcome. While I think my humans are cool and nice (they give me treats when I go to the bathroom outside-who DOES that?!), I’m still uncertain about a lot of things. The vet says I show a lot of signs of anxiety, so she has given me medicine that I take like a champ. I am house-trained. I don’t give the humans signals-they just take me outside when they let my fur brother out. Everyone I meet tells me what a good boy I am and how handsome I am-it makes me blush. Foster mom takes me on short walks, and I LOVE them! She can’t believe how well I walk on a leash! Unfortunately, I have a medical issue, but it’s only temporary. I am heartworm positive, but it’s OK…it isn’t contagious! I’ve started treatment for it. MLRR will pay for the heartworm treatment if you take me to an MLRR approved vet.

My foster mom says I need a home that will understand that I need time to feel safe and comfortable (I like to take things at my pace). I will take time to socialize, and I would REALLY love to have another dog in the home to show me the ropes. Though I am still a bit uncertain of some things, I am starting to love life inside of a house and with humans. Foster mom thinks I’m a super sweet boy and will be the perfect companion once I adjust and overcome my fears.

Patience and understanding are important and is needed when adopting me. I take time to settle and adjust, but once I do, I’ll be your BFF and PROMISE I’ll be worth the wait! So, what do you say? Are you the person that I’ve been dreaming about who will take the time to love me and show me the ropes?

  • Age: 4 years
  • Gender: Male
  • Color: Yellow
  • Weight: 55 lbs
  • Dogs: Good
  • Cats: Unknown
  • Children: Needs to be with older children
  • Crate: Needs a crate to settle, once settled, crate isn't needed
  • Energy: Low