Sally
Sally
Sally

Sally


Adopt Me!

Hi! I’m Sally, or as my foster family likes to call me, Sally Sunshine! Let me start by telling you a bit about myself.

Sadly, I was hit by a car and after my owners were notified of the accident, they never came back for me. Thankfully, Midwest Lab Rescue stepped up and took me in. I’m 8 years young and am currently undergoing treatment for heartworm (which is really no big deal). In addition, I have arthritis and fractures in my pelvis, but don’t worry; it doesn’t slow me down – I still like to play and go for walks, which, by the way, my foster mom and dad say I walk very nicely on a leash (the best one in the pack I currently live with). Occasionally, at the end of a busy day, I need to be carried up the stairs, so I may be do best in a home without a lot of stairs.

So, speaking of my pack - I am in a lively household right now, but I don’t mind it! I have a 3-year-old human brother and 16-month-old twin sisters that I live with, as well as 3 other dogs! I don’t mind the kids. It took me a little time to get used to the 16-month-olds because they would come crawling at me super-fast! At first, I would always get up and walk away from them, but after getting to know them I realize they’re not too bad – they give me good pets and sometimes even free food!

I have also really learned to read signals from other dogs. There’s one grumpy girl here, so I give her some space. But the others are fun to be around, and we love playing together! As you could imagine, with all these kiddos (human and furry), there are a lot of toys. I do my best to stick to dog toys, but from time to time, I choose to play with the kids’ toys, but can you blame me? They all look/feel the same to me! Though I do love all the activity, sometimes I need a little time to myself, and some patience while I take it all in.

I take treats gently and I know sit. I am crate trained, but I’m so well-behaved that from day 1, my foster mama and daddy left the door open when we went to sleep, and more recently they put the crate away. I now have a nice fluffy dog bed to sleep on.

I have yet to meet another dog or human that I don’t like. If you’re willing to pet me, we will definitely be good friends!

  • Age: 8 years
  • Gender: Female
  • Color: Yellow
  • Weight: 60 lbs
  • Dogs: Good
  • Cats: Unknown
  • Children: Good
  • Crate: Good, but not needed
  • Energy: Moderate

Sally's immediate medical needs and procedures are covered by MLRR through partner MLRR vets. However, Sally will need to be on anti-inflammatories for life at an estimated cost of $100 per month.