Likes: Toys, playing with my dog friends, following you around, cuddles!

Dislikes: Not having a forever home!

Hi everybody! My name is Penny and I am a sweet, beautiful 5-year-old black Lab who was rescued by MLRR after the only family I had every known had no time for me anymore. I was really anxious and timid at first when I came to my foster home but my foster mom says I'm finally starting to act like a normal Lab with her happy face on all the time.

I currently live with two foster fur sisters - a senior MLRR rescue and an almost 3-year-old mixed breed who I just love to play with. I love to get really wound up playing with my foster sisters but then I settle down really nicely. Sometimes I like to run around and around in a circle when I get excited playing. I also love it when you chase me. When I want to play, I will bark at you and get a toy. That is your cue to start chasing me, of course. I love to run after my toys - my foster family says I bound and leap when I run. I pretty much love any kind of toy. When I'm not having fun playing, I am usually found on the couch sleeping or looking out the window at all the activity outside.

I'm housebroken but my cue to go outside is to bark at you so if it doesn't seem like I want to play, know you need to take me outside instead! I have a weird quirk - I do NOT like to walk on wet grass. I would rather go potty on the sidewalk, in the rock garden or on the deck (but my foster mom keeps telling me that is not an option). My foster mom thinks I'm weird about walking on grass sometimes because I have some allergies. I'm also allergic to chicken so do not feed me any chicken, poultry or egg products, please! I require a limited ingredient diet and lots of treats but remember, read those labels!! I don't really talk much about what life was like in my first home but I do have an old injury on my front leg that was never treated so my leg looks a little strange. Sometimes, I do favor it but I have pain medications for days when it is bothering me more than others. Don't worry - I can get around just fine and I've learned to live with my leg as it is.

I am crate trained but I'm really well behaved (though I do have a habit of raiding the recycling bin). I'm really not left home alone very often because my foster mom works from home. At my first home, I was left home alone for hours and hours, though. I love it when my foster family gives me a Kong stuffed with frozen yogurt before they go out. It keeps me so busy and occupied in my crate. At night, I start out in my crate. My foster parents leave the side door open and sometimes I come out and sleep on one of the dog beds in the bedroom, either by myself or with one of my foster fur sisters.

Ok, I need to be honest with you. I was so anxious when I arrived at my foster home that I bonded with my foster mom right away and was scared when anyone else tried to pet me. I don't ever get aggressive when I get scared but I will try to run away. My foster mom thinks that I'm the kind of dog who will need some time to adjust to my forever home - honestly, it took me a couple weeks in my foster home before I finally let anyone else pet me without having to have my foster mom right by my side. I love my foster home and the people in it but that's just the kind of girl I am. I hope you will understand and be patient with me!

So what do you say? Could I be the sweet girl for you?

  • Age: 5 years old
  • Gender: Female
  • Color: Black
  • Weight: 62 pounds
  • Dogs: Good
  • Cats: Good
  • Kids: Good
  • Crate: Good
  • Energy Level: Medium

Original Post Date - March 19, 2019