Honey Bear
Honey Bear

Honey Bear


Hi there, I’m Honey Bear. I’m lovingly referred to as Honey by my foster mom who says I am as sweet as my name. At 10 years of age the family I knew my whole life relinquished me when their circumstances changed. Thankfully, this wonderful foster family took me in, and they say I have adapted beautifully to all the changes. I am super friendly with everyone I meet – adults, children, and other animals! At first, I stuck really close to my foster mom, but have since realized I wasn’t going to be abandoned again and have become more comfortable and independent to find other spots in the house to take naps and relax.

I am 100% house-trained, totally respectful during family mealtime, never beg for food, take treats very gently, and rarely ever bark. I prefer comfy couches to dog beds or floors and I am happiest when I can sleep quietly all night at the foot of my foster mom’s bed or curl up next to her on the couch to get belly and ear rubs. I am super trustworthy so need to put me in a crate. I have gotten used to foster mom being gone at work for 6-7 hours at a time; I am sad to see her leave but greet her exuberantly when she returns home. Mom says I am doing great at learning to sit instead of jump and to wait for kisses and hugs, but this is a work in progress. Foster mom thinks I might be happiest if I am in a home where I am not left alone for long stretches of time.

I LOVE to go for walks and am pretty good with this leash thing – I never pull! I love getting all the attention while out for walks, especially from the kiddos! Recently, I was so excited to see a group of kids waiting for the school bus, I insisted on standing with them until every one of them boarded the bus before continuing our walk.

By the way, I am great in the car – so I could be an awesome travel companion! Foster mom says I’m a “treasure”. She also says I am loving, gentle, and that I would be an amazing addition for a very lucky family.

So, what do you think - are you my lucky family?

  • Age: 10 years
  • Gender: Female
  • Color: Yellow
  • Weight: 50 lbs
  • Dogs: Good
  • Cats: Unknown
  • Children: Good
  • Crate: Not needed
  • Energy: Laid back to moderate

Updated post date: November 28, 2021