Likes: Playing! FOOD! Giving kisses!

Dislikes: Not having a forever home!!

Dear Future Owner:

My name is Harley. I am a South Sider by birth (found as a stray in the Midway area) – good thing my current foster family is a White Sox family. I came in weighing 32 pounds and after a couple of weeks of healthy, consistent meals weighed in at 38 pounds at my last vet visit.

The vet was a bit scary for me. The female vet tech gave me some treats to coax me out of my shell, which was a good idea as I am VERY food motivated. I tried some of my avoidance moves on the male vet such as hiding behind my foster mom, but it didn’t work. With my foster mom’s help with distraction, they were able to check me and confirmed that I still have my lady parts so I’ll need to get that taken care. As Bob Barker used to say, “control the pet population.” They think I’m almost a year old and weren’t sure what vaccinations I’ve had so I’ll need those too – is anyone a fan of needles?!

I currently live with my foster mom and dad along with their two kids (ages 8 and 6) as well as the resident grouch-man, Stanley - he’s a rescued Lab mix too. I have a bit more energy than him so sometimes he appeases me and plays tug of war or we play tag/chase with whoever has the toy. I’m fast and can usually win tug of war even though I’m 20 pounds lighter (don’t tell him I told you). My petite frame doesn’t work out so well when he gets the toy because his big ole body blocks me. I need to work on that.

I am a pretty mixed bag of energy. I can go from running around the yard doing zoomies to throwing and catching a toy by myself to going straight into my crate when it’s time for bed. On that subject, I’m very good with my crate and don’t chew furniture or anything. I do like antlers and bully sticks. My crate is my secret hiding spot for toys and sometimes when I hear my foster mom give a big sigh because I got into something I’m not supposed to, I go in there on my own.

Being a stray, I’m still not sure where my next meal will come from so I tried to counter surf a few times, but not as of late. I’m not food aggressive, though, and my foster mom touches my food and bowl while eating and all that jazz. I’m working on some training since I haven’t had much structure before. Potty outside is a notch in my belt so now I’m working on walking nicely on the leash and doing a solid down. I sit nicely and have almost perfected my stay for my food bowl to go down before devouring every lovely morsel. My foster mom says I remind her of her prior Lab who always wanted to be near here – whether it’s going to the basement to do laundry or wanting her to come outside when I go potty. What can I say - I’m definitely a people dog!

I let my foster family know when someone is at the door or coming in the house, but apparently we are working on stopping that. I don’t know why – don’t they want to know when someone is there?! Same goes for my kangaroo action when someone comes home.

I’m cautious of new people, but will eventually warm up – just give me time (and treats). Overall, I’m a very sweet girl and love to give kisses or rub up against you. Stanley says I’m confused I’m a cat with the rubbing, but I ignore him. I’m not allowed on the furniture in my foster home, but I see Stanley sneak up on the couch so I do too.

Well, I hope you enjoyed reading ALL ABOUT ME. I’m a pretty great catch and think someone very lucky is out there waiting for me. Just meet me – you won’t be sorry.

  • Age: Almost 1 year old
  • Gender: Female
  • Color: Black
  • Weight: 38 lbs.
  • Dogs: Good
  • Cats: Unknown
  • Kids: Good
  • Crate: Good
  • Energy level: Medium to high

Original Post Date - Jan. 21, 2020