Hi there - my name is Groot! I’m the Big hunk of love that you’ve been waiting for. I mean, who doesn’t want a loyal Labrador who will follow you anywhere? I am a whole 75 pounds of loving Lab, but I don’t take up much space. My foster parents nicknamed me shadow because I follow them everywhere. It might occasionally annoy some people, but once anyone looks into my deep brown eyes, they can’t do anything but squeeze me with a heartfelt hug.

So you’re probably wondering why I don’t have a family to call my own. I was found with an injured back leg in another state. A nice lady helped me get to Midwest Labrador Rescue and was able to get the leg healed. When I run too much, it starts to bother me again, but it should be back to 100% in no time.

I like all people, but I don’t always know how strong I am. I think I would do best with kids over the age of 8, so that I don’t accidently make anyone cry. I love other dogs and would be happy to have some friends at my new home. I would be happy to just get your attention as well!

I don’t mind going in my crate but it is not my favorite spot. I am really good with not making any accidents in the crate or in the house. I LOVE food, and treats. I would do just about anything for a snack. I will happily clean any of your messes of people food, but I listen when told not to eat from the table. I will shred stuffed toys, but enjoy balls the most. Even if you don’t want to play, I will take a tennis ball and throw it for myself. Playing fetch with a friend is way better though. Would you want to be my fetch partner?

  • Age: 2 years
  • Gender: Male
  • Color: Black
  • Weight: 75 lbs
  • Dogs: Good
  • Cats: Unknown
  • Children: Best with children 8 and older
  • Crate: Good
  • Energy: Moderate to high

Post Date - April 1, 2024