Likes: Belly rubs, being pet, and FOOD!

Dislikes: Not having a forever home!

Hi everyone! My name is Gracey. I am a 9-month-old black Lab mix. Before coming to MLRR, I was a stray in Tennessee. I live with my 9-year-old human sibling and a small dog. I get along great with the little guy. In fact, he tries to get me to play more than I try to get him to play! Even though I like my fur brother, I am uncertain about other dogs. My foster mom thinks I would be best in a home as the only dog. She thinks I may need more dog and people socialization.

I can be a vocal girl. Whether I’m in the backyard or looking out the window, I love to say “Hi” to my neighborhood dog friends and people friends when they walk past my house. I love to go for walks, but need to be taught how to walk on a leash. I also enjoy playing with my fur brother and snuggling with my family. I love it when someone wants to give me a belly rub or give me any attention at all. Since I am a puppy, I do need a little help with my manners. I sometimes grab things off the counters and table. I mean, if it’s out, shouldn’t I be able to have it? I like to play with my squeaky toys and know how to play fetch (when I’m in the mood for it)-I even drop the ball!

Unfortunately, I have trust issues that I need help overcoming. My foster mom thinks I can overcome this with love, patience, and training. When I first meet you, I have a lot to say but will also back away from you until I learn that I can trust you. Sometimes it may happen quickly, other times I need a little more time.

  • Age: 9 months
  • Sex: Female
  • Color: Black
  • Cats: Unknown
  • Dogs: Prefers to be the only dog
  • Kids: Good
  • Crate: Good
  • Energy level: Medium to high

Original post date - Sept. 18, 2019