Hi my name is Duke and I am a big, cuddly and playful 5-year-old lab mix. I love to play and go on walks. My foster mom thinks I am mixed with a hound because I howl and walk with my nose.

My life started in Texas and then a family in Tennessee decided to adopt me. I completed heart and hook worm treatments but the family changed their mind and MLRR rescued me. I hadn’t seen the snow before, but it didn’t faze me much and I still enjoy my walks. I really like when my foster mom takes me on the streets that have dogs, squirrels, and rabbits. I am not a fan of cats though. I am shy around kids because of their sudden movements, so I just stay near to my foster mom.

When we aren’t on walks, I like to cuddle on the couch, look out the window, and play. My foster mom says I may be 5 years old, but I still play like a puppy at times. Occasionally, if I want attention or am upset that she went to work all day I might get a pair of her socks, gloves, or a hat. I am getting better though and if you leave me a Kong filled with peanut butter and treats and spend a little time with me before you leave, I am a good boy. When you come home, I will greet you with a happy dance and hugs.

I have fought through a lot and kept my sweet and fun personality. I would love a home with a yard I can run and play in and parents who will walk and snuggle with me. Do you have room in your heart and home to cuddle and play with me forever?

  • Age: 5 years
  • Gender: Male
  • Color: Yellow
  • Weight: 70 lbs.
  • Dogs: Good
  • Cats: Not good
  • Children: Good
  • Crate: Okay
  • Energy: Moderate

Original post date: January 8, 2021

Updated: February 23, 2021