Hi, I'm Drake! I'm a Southern Gentleman who was in a high-kill shelter in Tennessee when MLRR rescued me and brought me to my foster family. I’m a senior with some stiffness and lumps and bumps, but all I want is safety and companionship and I will shower you with love!

I'm hanging happily with another puppy, a bunny and 5 human siblings ages 2-12. I love these kids and follow them everywhere. Though I am a senior and a little stiff (due to arthritis), I have been keeping up with the puppy on her many walks around the neighborhood and sniffing all the spots around the yard. I don't chase birds, bunnies, or squirrels like she does though, and I stay close to the humans. No need for a crate for me - I'm house-trained and go to the door to be let out. Easy stuff for me! You know what my humans think is really cute? I sometimes sleep with my tongue hanging out. Well, what do you expect from a dog who has no top or bottom front teeth? I had a few really rough years before MLRR scooped me up.

Since I spent a lot of time hungry and looking for food before I was rescued, I don't love it when the puppy checks on me while I'm eating, so I get to eat all alone now. It's just so good to have enough to eat again! I love the soft food that isn't too hard to chew since I only have my molars.

My foster family appreciates how I want to be with them wherever they are, how I ride quietly in the car, and I just relax during meals and wait for them to finish. They brought me to an outdoor church service and I didn't make a peep. I am a go-with-the-flow guy, and I am unphased by pretty much everything: new dogs, people, the coffee grinder, the vacuum, even the bunny who hops around the house. I may have been on my own for a long time, but manners just come naturally to me, I guess. I can't wait to show my new family what a good boy I am. I know my new family will enjoy taking it easy with me by their sides.

  • Age: ~10-12 years
  • Gender: Male
  • Color: Chocolate
  • Weight: 61 lbs
  • Dogs: Good
  • Cats: Unknown, but good with bunnies
  • Children: Good
  • Crate: Unknown, but not needed
  • Energy: Low

Note from MLRR: Though Drake is older than we had originally thought, he is full of life and loves to go for walks, hikes, family outings, and swims. He is arthritic, but still trots on walks! He is Heartworm positive (don’t worry – it’s not contagious!) and will begin treatment soon. MLRR will continue to pay for his HW treatment after adoption, but he will need to maintain a low activity lifestyle during treatment (which will not be difficult with this super chill dude). He will also need to continue medication for arthritis.