Are you interested in a rescue Lab?!? If so, then I am your girl!

I’m Coco - you probably know me as the Mama of the gorgeous Cocktail pups! I came to MLRR with my six 10-day-old puppies! With the help of my foster mom, I cared for my puppies until they were ready to be adopted by wonderful families. My foster mom tells me that I was the champion of all dog moms!! Now it is time for me to find MY forever home!!

MLRR doesn’t know much about my past, except that I was picked up as a stray in rural Missouri. At my recent vet appointment, MLRR learned that somebody had shot at me because I have BBs inside of me! They don’t hurt, and the vet said they won’t cause any problems, but it lets you know why it takes me time to trust people.

I am nervous with new humans, but I am very gentle and passive, and since I've been in my foster home I have made great strides. A quiet home with a fenced yard would be ideal. I can be a little scared when too many people are jumping or running around me and would love a home with mature, calm people so I can feel safe. It would be super great if I had one or more friendly dog siblings to play with and teach me how to navigate your home. In fact, the two MLRR fosters that I have spent time with both agree that I am the EASIEST dog around other dogs!!! Being your one and only could work out just fine, too, if you are a great match for me!

I was heartworm positive when I first came to MLRR, but I just finished my last treatment. I have one more follow up test and a few weeks of rest, and then I should be home free!! Heartworm is very treatable and not contagious, and my vet is confident that I will make a 100% recovery. Oh - and my friends at MLRR covered my heartworm medical costs, thanks to some very kind donations.

Since I have been with my foster family, I have been learning how to be a dog in a home and how to trust people. I am pretty good on a leash and am learning to enjoy walks. I am house trained and do not bother anything in the house. Lately I have not been staying in a crate, and I do just fine when no one is home. I have an awesome foster fur brother that I play nicely with, and he has taught me so much about how to be a good pup! I am at my happiest when I am outside running and playing in the yard!! Inside the house, I am quiet and enjoy time laying on the various dog beds around the house, wherever is closest to my humans.

So, if you are looking for a sweet and gentle young lab, then look no further. If you come meet me, my foster mom will tell you how rewarding it is to watch me grow.

  • Age: 2 years old
  • Gender: Female
  • Color: Chocolate
  • Weight: 48 lbs
  • Dogs: Good
  • Cats: Unknown
  • Children: Unknown, but prefers calm and quiet
  • Crate: Good
  • Energy: Moderate