Hi there - I’m Buck.

I am a quiet mellow fellow with bedroom eyes. My likes are being around my people and playing in a fenced back yard. My dislikes? Well, please let me explain.

I basically grew up in a pen in a quiet place in Kentucky. That is until my family couldn’t afford me anymore. Luckily, I ended up in a MLRR foster home. All my medical needs are now done and dusted, but I remain a shy country boy and prefer a smaller world than most labs. Loud noises, traffic and new things still scare me. However, I have shown that with patience and time, I can grow accustomed to my environment. Right next door to my foster house, there is a yard with a pool and a swing set. It took time but now I am OK when the three girls and their friends are playing LOUDLY.

Inside the house, I don’t make messes, bark or chew on things. I am comfortable with my foster family and will always want to be near you. My fosters live in the city, so walking here is not relaxing for me; if I lived in a quieter place, I would have a better chance of being able to take short walks.

I have come a long way with the help of my loving foster home and am ready to meet my furever family. I will continue to improve slowly, but car rides, dog parks and long walks will never be my jam. If you have a quiet home and are willing to give me the gift of time, I would like to meet you. With your help, I can continue to come out of my shell and improve the quality of my life. My foster people can tell you what a beautiful thing this is to experience. If you already have a dog, they might be a bit of mentor; you know, maybe show me the ropes.

My fosters say I am a diamond in the rough. Maybe you can help me to shine brighter, and I can be your loyal friend.

  • Age: 5 years
  • Gender: Male
  • Color: Black
  • Weight: 60 lbs
  • Dogs: Good
  • Cats: Unknown
  • Children: OK with calmer kids
  • Energy: Medium