Brave

Brave


Available for Foster to Adopt

Likes: Belly rubs, being pet, and treats

Dislikes: Not having a forever home! Besides that, I can’t complain!

Hi everyone! My name is Brave. I am an 8-year-old black Lab mix. Before coming to MLRR, I was abused by my previous owners and lived in a kennel at a VCA for two years. Once released from my owners, my family at the VCA decided to name me Brave. It was at this time when I was picked up by my foster mom and human sister to begin the next chapter of my life. Even though I had a rough start, I am a happy guy and I can’t stop wagging my tail. My foster family recently adopted a small dog with whom I get along with as well. What can I say, I love everyone!

I am a very quiet boy. I love to go for walks and I walk pretty well on a leash. I also enjoy lying around on my dog beds. I love it when someone wants to give me a belly rub or give me any attention at all. Since I am a senior dog, I am really well behaved. I like to play with my squeaky toys and my foster mom thinks I may know how to fetch. I also do not even attempt to counter surf - awesome, right?

Unfortunately, I am heartworm positive, but don’t let that scare you! I am currently undergoing treatment and am doing great! I also drool a little bit - I know, gross, right? But in the grand scheme of things, is drool really all that bad? I don't think so!

Due to my age and heartworm, I am eligible for MLRR’s Foster to Adopt (FTA) program. This program is for puppies less than 1 year old, dogs over 7 years old, and select medical case dogs, including dogs that test positive for heartworm, like me. Typically, an approved adopter acts as a foster home for two weeks before deciding whether or not to officially adopt the dog. However, in my case, that time is extended since my heartworm treatment takes longer.

During the FTA period, MLRR covers all medical expenses. After my treatment, you are able to adopt me so we can make it official! If, at the end of the period, the you decide not to finalize my adoption, you will continue to foster me until another adopter or foster is found.

So what do you say? Am I the well-behaved Lab mix that you are looking for? I think I could be the perfect fit for you!

  • Age: 8 years
  • Sex: Male
  • Color: Black
  • Cats: Good
  • Dogs: Good
  • Kids: Good
  • Crate: Good, but does not need to be in crate
  • Energy level: Low

Original Post Date - April 9, 2019