Amelia, aka"Tootsie"
Amelia, aka"Tootsie"

Amelia, aka"Tootsie"


“Tootsie” coming to you here. I’m a small chocolate lab-mix girl. They call me Tootsie probably because of the white toes on my left rear paw. MLRR got me out of a house in Louisiana where the people let 14 of us run outside all day and come inside at night. I have some scars on my face - I don’t talk about that (very girl has some secrets).

Now I’m looking for a forever home.

This transition hasn’t been easy. I’m still cautious when meeting people on a walk. My tail is between my legs and I shy away. I am getting better but it will require some more work. I never walked on a leash before so I’m still working on that, but I do love the walks!

I still have some puppy habits that I’m working on with my foster parents. I get so excited when I like someone, I tend to jump on them. I sometimes grab things I shouldn’t to chew on, but that’s still fun for me! Then there’s that cat … At first, I chased her, now she scares me when I get too close! Sooner or later we’ll get along. At least I’m not chasing her anymore; I save that for outside where I like to run like the wind in the backyard. Did I mention I was fast?

My fosters say I’m a very gentle dog. I’m pretty good at sleeping all night. I do what I have to do outside. I love to sit on the couch next to my people and cuddle and give hugs and kisses. I sit next to my fosters whenever I can.

I’m looking for my forever home where I can sit on the couch giving kisses and cuddling with my family.

  • Age: 18 months
  • Gender: Female
  • Color: Chocolate
  • Weight: 50 lbs.
  • Dogs: Good
  • Cats: Okay
  • Children: Unknown, though good with the neighborhood kids
  • Crate: Unknown
  • Energy: Moderate

Updated - July 12, 2020

Original Post Date - June 21, 2020