Howdy everyone, my name is Bucky. Somehow, MLRR found out I was a stray way down in Texas and brought me here. I was so scared at my foster house the first couple weeks because all these people came over to celebrate holidays. Now that things are more routine, I have been able to relax and settle in.

I am getting along great with the other two dogs here. Sometimes, we play take away with one of the toys, but we never fight. The food here is awesome. I am really, really into treats as well. I can’t take my eyes off the person if she has treats. While I will check the other dog’s bowls in case they may have forgotten to finish, I don't try to take the other dogs' food or counter surf. I do enjoy demolishing a soft dog toy, but I don’t chew things that are not mine.

Car rides are absolutely fantastic. I tried the back seat but really, for me, laying quietly in the front passenger seat is the best place so I can be closer to the person. I even stay settled if she runs into the store for a couple of minutes.

I have been going out to do my business in a fenced yard. Sometimes though, in the morning, I don't have my priorities straight. So, if I come to your house, please know that it is best to let me out again immediately after breakfast. Outside, the two resident dogs are kindly showing me how to protect the compound from the fattest squirrels I have ever seen and to make sure the perimeter is secure. I like running with them but, honestly, the security thing is not my jam. Often, I will just choose to stay in by the cool people instead of playing with the dogs.

I like to go on walks and smell all the trees. I don’t pull like crazy but I will need a little more help learning leash manners. Just bring some treats and you will have my attention. I am a little skittish with new sounds, sudden noises, and new people are all a little scary at first for me. I don’t growl or bare my teeth; I just quickly move away and take a minute before returning slowly. I will most likely need a week or two before I get to know your house.

My foster mom says I am an A+ cuddler. Not to brag or anything but, it is true. I’m super sweet and gentle and I love being by her no matter if she is in the car, kitchen, sofa or at the desk. Sometimes, the people leave the house but I'm ok staying loose with the other dogs. At night, I know I am not supposed to be in the bed, but I sneak up undetected in the early morning and once she stirs a little, I make sure to say good morning in the most loving way that never fails to put a smile on her face. Not a bad way to start the day!

So, whaddaya think? If you’re looking for a sweet, gentle, super loyal and loving dog that needs just a little patience and understanding at first, then I’m your guy!

  • Age: 1.5 years
  • Gender: Male
  • Color: Black
  • Weight: 55 lbs
  • Dogs: Good
  • Cats: Would probably avoid them
  • Children: Under 8 would scare him
  • Crate: Ignores it
  • Energy: Low