Hi y'all! Blackjack from Mississippi here! I had a rough time living in a shelter down south, but nice folks there worked with MLRR to give me a new life.

My foster family can't believe how easily I adapted to my new surroundings. I mean, what's not to like? Comfy dog beds, yummy food, toys galore and the coolest older foster sibling to show me the ropes. I follow her around everywhere and she really likes to play with me! We race around this big fenced yard and then just chill with a stick or two while enjoying being outside.

When I first arrived at my foster home, I was a little shy and quiet. My tail was always wagging, but I just preferred to sit and observe. My fur sister kept bringing me toys until she won me over, and soon she helped me figure out the schedule around here. Now I know lots of things, like it’s best to do my business outside, and how to sit, stay, come, and wait quietly for my food.

My foster family has figured out that I am very motivated by treats and their reassurance. I don't remember ever going for a walk on a leash before, so I’m still a bit wary. I get a treat when I wear my awesome harness, so all good there! We started with short walks around the yard and driveway and I got more goodies. Now, we walk slowly down our very quiet street and I'm loving all of the new smells and sights. I look back at my foster mom for reassurance and I'm getting so much more confident. Also, I LOVE toys! I’m still learning the difference between what’s a real toy and something I have found but shouldn’t chew, i.e. paper, socks, pillows, shoes, you catch my drift. I get a treat when I drop it and a "dog" toy appears. I'm learning quickly, but I guess you still have to watch me.

So this crate thing - I really like eating my meals in there and sometimes just go in to chill. But I prefer to be near everyone else. At night, I feel more comfortable on the floor next to the human's bed. Even though I'm still a puppy, I sleep through the night no problem! Speaking of my age, my foster mom says I am pretty chill for such a young pup. I still have that puppy energy at times where I race around the house or yard, but then it's nap time.

One last thing ... Apparently, I am super soft, handsome, cuddly and overall adorable. I've come a long way since arriving here after a very long trip, being dirty, itchy and smelly. After a spa day, some time at the vet's, really good food, lots of cuddles and love, I am sooo happy!

So, what do you think? Would you like to be my furever home?

XOXO, Blackjack (aka Jack)

  • Age: 7 months
  • Gender: Male
  • Color: Black
  • Weight: 42 lbs
  • Dogs: Good
  • Cats: Unknown
  • Children: Unknown, but super sweet
  • Crate: OK
  • Energy: Moderate puppy