Available to Adopt!

Hi, I'm Drake! I'm a Southern Gentleman who was in a high-kill shelter in Tennessee when MLRR rescued me and brought me to my foster family. I'm hanging happily with another puppy, a bunny and 5 human siblings ages 2-12. I love these kids and follow them everywhere. I may be 8 years old and a little stiff looking, but I have been keeping up with the puppy on her many walks around the neighborhood and sniffing all the spots around the yard. I don't chase birds, bunnies, or squirrels like she does though, and I stay close to where my humans are. No need for a crate for me - I'm house-trained and go to the door to be let out. Easy stuff for me! You know what my humans think is really cute? I sometimes sleep with my tongue hanging out. Well, what do you expect from a dog who has no top or bottom front teeth? I had a few really rough years before MLRR scooped me up.

There were some fireworks going off my first night with my foster family and while I did pay attention, I wasn't scared and didn't bark. Since I spent a lot of time hungry and looking for food before I was rescued, I don't love it when the puppy checks on me while I'm eating, so I get to eat all alone now. It's just so good to have enough to eat again! I love the soft food that isn't too hard to chew since I only have my molars.

My foster family appreciates how I want to be with them wherever they are, how I ride quietly in the car, and I just relax during meals and wait for them to finish. They brought me to an outdoor church service and I didn't make a peep. I am a go-with-the-flow guy, and I am unphased by pretty much everything: new dogs, people, the coffee grinder, the vacuum, even the bunny who hops around the house. I may have been on my own for a long time, but manners just come naturally to me, I guess. I can't wait to show my new family what a good boy I am. I know my new family will enjoy taking it easy with me by their sides.

  • Age: 8 years
  • Gender: Male
  • Color: Chocolate
  • Weight: 61 lbs
  • Dogs: Good
  • Cats: Unknown, but good with bunnies
  • Children: Good
  • Crate: Unknown, but not needed
  • Energy: Low

Note from MLRR: Drake is Heartworm positive (don’t worry – it’s not contagious!) and will begin treatment soon. MLRR will continue to pay for his HW treatment after adoption, but he will need to maintain a low activity lifestyle during treatment (which will not be difficult with this super chill dude).