Available to Adopt!

Are you interested in a true “RESCUE” dog?!? If so, then I am your girl!

I’m Coco - you probably know me as the Mama of the gorgeous Cocktail pups! I came to MLRR with my six 10-day-old puppies! With the help of my foster mom, I cared for my puppies until they were ready to be adopted by wonderful families. My foster mom tells me that I was the champion of all dog moms!! And now it is time for me to find MY forever home!!

MLRR doesn’t know much about my past, except that I was picked up as a stray in rural Missouri. At my recent vet appointment, MLRR learned that somebody had shot at me because I have BBs inside of me! They don’t hurt, and the vet said they won’t cause any problems, but it lets you know why it takes me time to trust people.

I am nervous with new humans, but I am very gentle and passive, and since I've been in my foster home I have made great strides. A quiet home with a safe space of my own and a fenced yard would be ideal. I can be a little scared when too many people are jumping or running around me and would love a home with mature, calm people so I can feel safe. And, it would be super great if I had one or more friendly dog siblings to play with and teach me how to navigate your home. I am also heartworm positive and have started treatment. Heartworm is very treatable and not contagious, and my vet is confident that I will make a 100% recovery. Oh - and my friends at MLRR are covering my medical costs for the duration of HW treatments, thanks to some very kind donations.

Since I have been with my foster family, I have been learning how to be a dog in a home and how to trust people. I am pretty good on a leash and am learning to enjoy walks. I am house trained, do not bother anything in the house, and I will go to my crate anytime you want me to and never complain. I have an awesome foster fur brother that I like to play with and who sets a great example for me every day. I recently spent a couple of weeks at a foster sitter, and I fit in very nicely there with the 3 boisterous and confident resident dogs. I especially loved playing with the resident Beagle puppy! I am at my happiest when I am outside playing with another friendly dog and running in the yard!! Inside the house, I am quiet and enjoy time laying on my dog bed or in my crate, wherever is closest to my humans.

So, if you want to rescue a Lab, then please consider me; with time and patience, I will be your best girl. If you come meet me, my foster mom will tell you how gentle I am and how rewarding it is to watch me grow.

  • Age: 1.5-2 years old
  • Gender: Female
  • Color: Chocolate
  • Weight: 48 lbs
  • Dogs: Good
  • Cats: Unknown
  • Children: Unknown, but prefers calm and quiet
  • Crate: Good
  • Energy: Moderate